Bukanga county candidates cleared to run as Independents.

by gloryfm106.7

The NRM electoral commission headed by its chairperson Dr. Tanga Odoi on thursday night declared the two candidates in Bukanga county Member of Parliament race as Independents due to irregularities and election violence.

The race that was between the incumbent Bukanga County MP, Stephen Kangwagye and his rival Moses Mperirwe went unsuccessful without flag bearer due to forgeries in declaration results.

The NRM electoral commission was forced to intervene after the district registrar declared wrong results after several cases of violence and election fraud were reported.

Finally, the two candidates contesting for the party flag together want the NRM Electoral Commission to suspend the residual elections in the 26 villages and retain the results declared on September 5th, 2020.

Dr. Tanga Odoi appealed to the candidates and supporters to be peaceful and support the NRM Party and its Chairman His Excellency Yoweri Kaguta Museveni in the general elections.


Meanwhile: Nomination exercises for members of parliament in Isingiro district kicked off well on Thursday at the district.

Nathan Byanyiima, the flag bearer Bukaga North Member of parliament was the first to be nominated by the district returning officer.

Byanyiima appealed to his opponents who lost in primaries to join him and work for the NRM party and the people of Bukanga North.


Hon Bright Rwamirama who was the second to be nominated appealed to his supporters to continue supporting him as he works towards the development and improving on service delivery within the district.


Kamurari Jerimiah Birungi, who was the 3rd person to be nominated as Independent Member of Parliament Bukanga North called on to his supporters to remain calm as they challenge the flag bearer and win in the general elections.


Nomination exercise according to electoral commission is ending today.

The Electoral Commission has on Friday concluded the nomination of candidates for the 2021 Parliamentary Elections with a total of twelve candidates being nominated for Mbarara district by afternoon.

The district returning officer Mbarara Jackline Atuhairwe said that said that the majority of the nominated are independent,

A total of 7 candidates were successfully nominated as independent to contest for the two constituencies in the Mbarara district.

The parties in the race are three NRM flag bears for both counties and the district woman member of parliament, Alliances for national transformation one, FDC one with NUP none.

Speaking after nomination Wilberforce Yaguma Rutashokwa the area Member of Parliament for Kashari North said that he decided to come as an independent due to irregularities that transpired in the recent NRM party elections.


Counsel David Muhame Mushaba who was also nominated as an independent assured people of Kashari north effective representation and service delivery.

He also called up his fellow contestants to ensure peaceful elections.


The nominations have been conducted in 353 constituencies for Directly-elected Members of Parliament and 146 seats for District Woman Representative to Parliament.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment